WKYU-PBS signed on the air in 1989 as a non-commercial, educational PBS station, based in Bowling Green, Kentucky and licensed to Western Kentucky University. Today, the station serves south central Kentucky, reaching an audience of more than 250,000 people in 11 counties and providing a full range of programs, including locally produced informational, public affairs and college sports programming, documentaries, and kids' programs that provide a safe haven for children and their parents. WKYU-PBS also provides telecourses for those pursuing a post-secondary degree through distance education at Western Kentucky University.

Some exciting new on-air services for viewers are on the way, as the station expands its digital services to include digital multicasting and high definition (HD) broadcasts over the next year.

The station houses a premiere television production facility, producing high-quality programs and videotapes for broadcast on the station, for the university and for other clients. WKYU-PBS enhances educational opportunities at Western by offering WKU Broadcasting students the chance to train alongside experienced station professionals in our production area.

WKYU-PBS relies on membership support from viewers, along with other community financial support and public funding to operate.

Closed Captioning Concerns

If you have a concern about closed captioning on WKYU-PBS that needs immediate attention, please contact us and we will respond within 24 hours:




If you have a concern about closed captioning that doesn't require an immediate response, please write us:

Attention: Linda Gerofsky, Station Manager
Closed Captioning
1906 College Heights Blvd., #11034
Bowling Green,: Kentucky: 42101-1034

Or e-mail:

Here is our coverage map. Click on a county to find what channel WKYU-PBS is on from your local cable provider.

Coverage Map Butler County Warren County Simpson County Logan County Allen County Edmonson County Hart County Grayson County Barren County Metcalfe County Muhlenberg County Ohio County McLean County Cumberland County Sumner County Macon County Where To Find Us (On The Dial)
Butler County
Aberdeen 10
Morgantown 10

Warren County
Bowling Green 11
Oakland 11
Plum Springs 11
Smiths Grove 11
Woodburn 11

Simpson County
Franklin 7

Logan County
Adairville 10
Russellville 12
Auburn 12
Lewisburg 12

Allen County
Scottsville 13

Edmonson County
Bee Spring 6
Brownsville 9
Sweeden 6

Hart County
Munfordville-Bonnieville 10
Horse Cave 6

Grayson County
Leitchfield-Clarkson 13

Barren County
Cave City-Horse Cave 6
Glasgow Electric Plant Board 24
Glasgow Comcast 6
Park City 13

Metcalfe County
Edmonton 10
Summershade 10

Muhlenberg County
Greenville 12
Central City 12

Ohio County
Ohio County 9

Cumberland County
Burkesville 10
Marrowbone 10

McLean County
Livermore-Calhoun 13

Macon County (TN)
Lafayette 13

Sumner County (TN)
Westmoreland 11

WKYU Staff
Dr. Robert Owen
 Vice President for Information
Jack A. Hanes
 Director of Public
 Broadcasting and Educational
 Television Services
Linda Gerofsky
 Station Manager

Full-Time Professionals
Jordan Basham
 Special Projects Producer
Cheryl Beckley
Dorin Bobarnac
  TV Engineer
David Brinkley
  Sr. Producer/Director
John Coe
  CATV Engineer
Erik Costa
  TV Engineer
Justin Davis
  Operations Manager
Barbara Deeb
  Public Affairs Producer/Host
Dana Divine
  Assistant Program Manager
Denis Quinn
  Chief Engineer
Carmen Herrera
  Graphic Artist
Kathy Jimerson
  Traffic Associate
Joshua Niedwick
  Associate Producer/Director
Linda Oldham
  Program Manager
Terry J. Reagan
  Director of Development

Part-Time Staff
Craig DeHut
  Videotape Librarian
Tom Foster
  Graphic Artist
Jessica Gibbs
  Associate Producer
Rafe Heltsley
Ann Potter
  Audience Services Assistant
Steve Pulliam
  TV Engineer

Guest Host
  David Lee

Student Staff
Jessica Vonderheide
  Production Crew Chief
Nathan Hayes
  Student Engineer
Rebecca Wittman
  Traffic Assistant

Master Control Operators
  Keith Kinder
  Kyle McCafferty
  Sam Phillips

Student Production Assistants
  Austin Anderson
  Ashly Cecil
  Chris Cook
  Cameron Epperson
  Joe Gibbs
  Katie Gibbs
  Jerome Gollner
  Quinn Haste
  Jodi Hitchel
  Bryce Howard
  Travis Humphrey
  Bri Kelley
  Matt Martin
  Sam McGaw
  Drew Meyer
  Brittany Petty
  Caitlin Richard
  Jessica Vonderheide
  Anna Williams
  Brian Winner

Part-Time Student Production Assistants
  Bentley Blair
  Joshua Stewart


Full Time:   Director, Educational Telecommunications
Part Time:  
Student Staff:   We are always looking for students, so come by and apply
Voice 1-800-599-2424
Campus 2400
FAX (270) 745-2084

FCC EEO Report 2012 - required
FCC EEO Report 2011 - required
FCC EEO Report 2010 - required

Local Content and Service Report to the Community

DTV Consumer Education Quarterly Report - 1st Quarter 2008

DTV Consumer Education Quarterly Report - 2nd Quarter 2008

DTV Consumer Education Quarterly Report - 3rd Quarter 2008

DTV Consumer Education Quarterly Report - 4th Quarter 2008

DTV Consumer Education Quarterly Report - 1st Quarter 2009


About WKYU Programs A-Z KYU Kids T.V. Listings Digital TV Underwriters Production Video Conferencing Telecourses Jobs WKU Campus Cable Channels Contact
Western Kentucky University Public Broadcasting
Western Kentucky University
1906 College Heights Blvd 11034
Bowling Green KY 42101-1034
VOICE: (270) 745-2400 or 1-800-599-2424
FAX: (270) 745-2084
Contact Web Design by Rafe Heltsley
All contents copyright. Western Kentucky University ᅵ 2005